2 Hours A Week


What are the Steps to an Independent Commission?

There is growing motivation among Congressional Republicans to fully investigate Russian interference in the 2016 election and any potential ties to the Trump campaign.

The current focus is to establish an independent commission of 12 non-governmental appointees through a bill called the Protecting Our Democracy Act. Since Speaker of the House Paul Ryan has refused to bring this bill up on the floor, Democrats have filed a discharge petition, which, with signatures from a majority of members, is a way of circumventing Ryan's refusal to address the issue and force a floor vote on the measure. Currently, every Democrat has agreed to sign the petition.

The idea is to get members of Congress on record as supporting an independent investigation—or not.

Two Republican representatives have co-signed the bill. Thank them, then ask those Republicans on the list below to vote yes on the Protecting Our Democracy Act (H.R. 356) and sign the discharge petition to bring it to a vote. The representatives listed below have shown some willingness to support an independent investigation.

What you can do

1. IF YOUR REPRESENTATIVE OR SENATOR IS ON THIS WHIP LIST, CONTACT THEM and tell them you want them to vote yes on the Protecting Our Democracy Act, sign the discharge petition to bring it to a vote, and release a public statement on the importance of an independent commission to investigate this administration's ties to Russia. 866-4-RESIST (866-473-7478).
Susan Collins (Maine)
Lindsey O. Graham (S.C.)
Dean Heller (Nev.)
John McCain (Ariz.)
Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
Mike Coffman (Colo.)
Barbara Comstock (Va.)
Carlos Curbelo (Fla.)
Darrell Issa (Calif.)
Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)
Steve Knight (Calif.)
Erik Paulsen (Minn)
Tom McClintock (Calif.)

2. THANK WALTER JONES (R, NC) AND JUSTIN AMASH (R, MI) for putting country before party and co-sponsoring the Protect Our Democracy Act. @RepWalterJones, @justinamash.